Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2002...9:51 am
Stuff.. we have way to much of it!!! I just spent the last hour tossing out all the old winter clothes that were either to small or stained or just ugly.. All that equaled out to about 2 full lawn bags (the big black garbage bags). Hello trashman! Good bye compulsive spender!

Ugh.. it's about time that I realized that buying the kids a bunch of junk, or tons of clothes is NOT a discription of what kind of mom I am. I'm tired of feeling guilty for not being perfect and buying *crap* to make up for it. So I stopped.. yet I couldn't let go of that "We might need this someday" idea. That was really hard.. but knowing that in a few minutes I'm throwing all that attitude out, feels really good. Even with all that mess (and that's all it did, create messes) going, my kids *still* have tons of clothes. So it's not like they'll be missing out. ALl we'll be missing out on is less laundry thanks to clothes that end up getting dirty because they were used for area rugs.

Toys? Pth. Most of those are gone. They now have one big toybin that is overflowing, but nothing like the walk in broken toystore we had before. They didn't play with any of it, and even what they have now still doesn't get played with that much. From now on, if something comes into the house, something will go out.

For me to really make this work, I have to say goodbye walmart once a week, sometimes more. *sigh* Emotional spending can wreck havoc on one's life.

There is a grocery store, two in fact, that are closer to walmart. I may spend a little bit more money, but they have *so* much less junk than walmart does, so if I watch for sales etc, I'll still end up spending less. Nothing like going to walmart to get some fruits for school snacks and coming out with $120 worth of stuff ya know?

So now I've gone through all those clothes.. my kids dont even need anything else this year (my sister bought a bunch of winter stuff on sale this year so they do have some "new" stuff) but I have several outfits cut out. I guess I will sew those up and that will do them till spring, with the exception of a new church dress for winter.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have to take all this trash out!

...archives...profile...design...diaryland...sign ...about