2002-03-12...12:58 a.m.
Another one of those long mommy rants-

I'm getting so sick of stupid kids and ignorant parents.. or should that be ignorant kids and stupid parents?

True situation but names are changed.. those that know me can figure it out. =O)

Ashley- my child

Sheba- ashley's friend

Mandy- neighborhood bully

lenna- bully's little sister

Hanna- girl in ashley's class

deb- bully's mom

marcas- bully's dad

So the story goes, ashley and sheba were friends before mandy moved here. They played together all the time, had the occaional spiffy 7 year old type arguments, got over it in 5 minutes and are friends again.. and again. Pretty normal for that age.

Mandy and Lenna move in in the apts across from us. They both seem ok at first, although they were rather shy. Of course Ashley and Sheba try to make friends and do the nice thing by inviting them to play. Lenna is 5 and in kindergarden and still a pretty good kid. Mandy on the other hand.. well. Lets put it like this. Mandy brought some play makeup out, told Sheba ashley couldnt play and that if she wanted to play with it, she'd have to tell ashley to go away. Nice eh? I told ashley to kill her with kindness and not worry about it. Eventually Sheba would get over it and they could all be friends. Soon afterwards, every time ashtyn or alliyah did *anything* Mandy was beating on my door to tell me. This wasn't bad stuff mind you, this was "Ashley said if I didn't be nice she was going to tell on me." "Ashley said that I couldn't ride her bike and she's sposed to share." "Ashley called me a butthead." "Ashley threw a book at me" etc. For the first two weeks they lived here, I couldn't get my kids to take a nap in the afternoons because my door was being beat down like I owed more money than the US goverment. I put a stop to that, mainly by getting in mandy's face, telling her that if she's going to tattle she should at least tell the whole truth.. like she called ashley a bitch, she shouldn't be riding ashley's bike to begin with, reguardless if she lets ashley ride hers (last time we "shared" bikes with the other neighborhood kids I found it 5 buildings down and missing the handlebars and chain.), and so on. Eventually she managed to talk enough smack about ashley to get sheba on her side, which resulted in a 7 year old "fight" (they slapped each other once) and now sheba's mom won't let sheba play with ashley and mandy was quite content with this. She even knocked on my door to tell me! How nice.

Anyways.. so this is how it went with Ashley and mandy for quite some time. Somehow or another they became friends. Suddenly mandy was insisting she spend the night and stay in ashley's room all the time. I am just so NOT all about this. I did let them though, but thought things were weird because, well I donno. It just bothers me when kids say they don't want to go home, yet wont give an explination.

So now I've got Mandy over in the house all the time, even when ashley wasn't here. That was really weird. Until my change drawer started becoming rather empty. hmmm. I didn't say anything because i hadn't caught her. After all, it could have been one of mine right? So I moved things, and then noticed drawers were closed all the way when I had left them slightly open etc. I'm sneaky like that =O) but it's only happening when she's here.

So rather than saying stay the hell away from my child or meet my shotgun, I figured I'd lay down the law, explain what I do to evil little girls that steal my vacation quarters (I had about $30 in quarters, now I have about $11).

And also that my room and the sewing room was totally off limits for any reason, including insanity and fires. She was playing hide and go seek today.. and went into BOTH rooms. Ty was sleeping so she freaked out when he sat straight up and asked her what's up. Claimed she was looking for ashley. Right.

So while that was going on, ashley's friend from school was here, hanna. She's super sweet and her mom is ok, from what I know, tho I'm not comfortable with her spending the night over there yet.

Hanna gets the honeymoon version of Mandy, and as soon as mandy realized ashley couldn't go to hanna's slumber party she pushed herself to go instead. Hanna's mom said it was ok, and Mandy's mom didn't give a flying crap, as usual. From what ashley and hanna's mom said, they didn't talk at all, and she didn't hear mandy tell her mom where she was staying. Oh. Loving parents eh? right. So they all went back to Hanna's house for a bit (We all live right down the road from each other, so a 30 second drive is no biggie lol) and I'm thinking I really should tell hanna's mom.. blah.. and I felt like such a rat. The girl NEEDS friends, but I felt like mom should watch her stuff to ya know? It's not so much the little things but what if I had a gun and she found that? Or drugs? ya know? She could do serious damage to herself or someone else.

Anyways so we were all outside and Hanna said My mom said ashley can spend the night if it's ok with you. I said well, and before I opened my mouth mandy was all "OOOHH You know what her mom said??" and was about to repeat everything I said. I got ALL over her ass. All i had said was nobody was spending the night here and ashtyn wasn't spending the night anywhere, and if anybody asked they were either grounded or would be shown the front door. I said that because I'm so SICK of mandy bugging me ALL the time about staying here, and then when I say no she makes all these bullshit promises and says stuff like "my mom said I could" and I'm all who pays my rent?? You or me? but whatever.

So now she's over at ashley's friend's house, and ashley is stuck here, feeling like mandy struck once again, and I feel like a shit head for 1) not letting ashley do what all the other girls are doing and 2) I wouldn't have let her spend the night with mandy there anyway. But I still feel bad. I WISH I could just say sure! Go ahead! Life is safe, nobody will ever hurt you, etc.. but I've been through to much, seen to much and watched way more news shows than I ever should have, so I can't do that in good faith ya know?

Anyways, I hope this makes some sense, I'm tired, getting sick (my flu seems to have struck again) and just tired!!


...archives...profile...design...diaryland...sign ...about